Welcome to Young Readers

Reading schemes enrich learning and are also great fun! We offer British English reading schemes to meet every need, and we know it can be difficult to decide which one is right for you. So to make it easy, we have put them all here in one place.


Explore samples from the readers, as well as free worksheets, audio, and documents mapping titles to a number of our courses for Macmillan Factual Readers, Macmillan Children's Readers, and Macmillan English Explorers and Explorers Phonics.


Download the 2015 catalogue here


This year we are celebrating 150 years of Alice in Wonderland, with two new Alice publications: Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland and Through the Looking Glass. For free extra resources, including an Alice game, playing cards and activities, visit the Macmillan Readers website.


Download the brand-new Using Graded Readers in the Young Learner Classroom brochure




Readers by Series

Macmillan Children's Readers

A variety of fiction and non-fiction titles in six levels for children aged from 6 to 12 years old.

Macmillan English Explorers

An eight-level reading scheme, complemented by a four-level phonics scheme.

Macmillan Factual Readers

A six-level series where English language learners explore a variety of fascinating real-world topics.

Help for Parents

Hints and tips on how you can help your child's literacy progress using our reading titles. 

Sign up to our newsletter